Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

air intake vs chip

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2010, 12:06 AM
Default air intake vs chip

So I am just learning bout all this performance stuff and I keep getting mixed answers. I have an 08 silverado 1500... should i just get an air intake system? or get a chip or both? one person told me I should just do air intake, take it to a dyno shop and have them tune it all up? IDKKKK help? please

Old 01-11-2011, 02:46 PM

The Air Intake is not going to do much. The programmer will allow you to make tuning adjustments (seek the help of someone that understands what they are doing), which you would do after installing a CAI anyway, based on the advice you've been given. You aren't really cramming more air into the combustion chambers anyway. To do that , you have two external options...Turbocharging or Supercharging (both alot more dinero than you may want or be able to spend). Do the programmer but, don''t expect the world.

Old 01-12-2011, 10:58 AM

Thank you for responding is there any other way to get more guts than doing either of those?

Old 01-12-2011, 10:42 PM

Originally Posted by TruckGirl14
Thank you for responding is there any other way to get more guts than doing either of those?
No that's about the only way to get any more out of it. Go with a CAI, a cat-back exhaust if you want or not. Get a custom tune, don't waste your money on a hand held programmer. Go with a reputable tuner and they will give you the most for "your" driving style. If you would like a recommendation of some tuners send me a pm as I am not sure if any of them are site sponsors or not.

Old 01-14-2011, 06:18 PM
TruckForum Addict