Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Locking Differential? MUST SEE VIDEOS (2)

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2007, 09:54 PM
Default Locking Differential? MUST SEE VIDEOS (2)

When I purchased my 07 Classic, I got an extended cab, 4.8L automatic transmission with a tow package. It came with a heavy duty locking differential which was an extra $325. I didn"t really want this option but the salesman said that all Silverados equipped with a towing package had this option
installed by the factory. I only tow a small 10 foot cargo trailer back and forth to my cabin. I can understand the external transmission cooler and heavy duty air filter and shocks installed with the tow package, but why the locking differential? Is this an option that I want? Will it hurt my gas mileager? I am new to trucks - this is the first one I ever owned. Thanks Guys!

Old 05-13-2007, 12:36 AM
TruckForum Addict
Default RE: What Good iIs A Locking Differential?

What you have is the limited slip. It's a good thing you have the LSD. Imagine if there was a bad rain one day and the area your trailor was in was pretty muddy. You'd sink. It won't effect your mileage in any noticeable way. It's also better in the rain. I wouldn't swap mine for the world.

Old 05-13-2007, 03:09 AM

ok, so what kind of locker do you think is the best? I am thinking about an air locker, but I want to hear everybodys opinion first..

Old 05-13-2007, 07:18 AM

I think this is a great option, especially in a 2wd! Have a look at this video, it's awesome!

Old 05-13-2007, 08:11 AM

ok so where do i get the G80, how much do you think it would cost from the dealer? how much at a shop? is it something i can do myself.. I am not too familiar with working on rear ends.. I know there can be some tight tolerances back there...

Old 05-13-2007, 01:17 PM